RSS Feed

What’s the Prognosis, Doctor?

Posted on

April is drawing to a close and May is just around the riverbend. Which means today was a No Man’s Land kind of day. You know – when you’ve got work that you could or really should work on now, but isn’t due for a week or two, class that ended early, and almost an entire a day ahead of you to enjoy the sunshine and warm weather. Well, it at least applies to me.

I was let out early from both of my classes today, so I had more time on my hands than I’m used to. I went to a Thai restaurant called Isle on Bleecker St with my friend Nicole, and by the time I got back to my room, was so worn out that I took a nap. The downside to all of this good weather (and there is one), is that I have suddenly acquired the buds of an illness. Put simply: I feel sick. Sore throat, hot-headed, and tired. I think it’s allergies. Okay, I’m praying it’s all because of allergies. I don’t need strep throat, or to be one of the rare cases of people who gets mono twice. It’s almost finals time! [On a side note: Yahoo answers is probably not the best source for information regarding medical treatment. ] Which also reminds me, why isn’t Doogie Howser, M.D. on Netflix? I could use some inspirational end of day journaling by a young NPH.

I couldn’t find any good clips of the actual show, but here’s NPH spoofing his role as Doogie on “How I Met Your Mother.”

Anyways, here’s another poem I wrote. It’s a lighter, cuter poem. I think it’s my favorite, but I say that only because I haven’t written another I love as much yet.

“Boundaries”

Let’s draw up a line of
Demarcation. Divided, we own
everything.
 
You own the bookshelves,
the TV, the closet space.
I take the desks, the chairs,
the posters. 
 
You can have the shoes, but the soles are mine.
The pens and pencils – they are yours,
as I will pocket the computer keys.
 
I call the pillows, and you the sheets.
The books are mine, but the words
are for your eyes only. 
 
I want the lamps, but you won’t let me
have them.
 
You see,
you are light enough to keep me
from crying out in fright at night,
when I remember that monsters
hide underneath our bed.

About Jen

Who am I? Well, I'm certainly not Batman, if that's what you were thinking. Or Spiderman for that matter, either. I'm just a girl who decided to create a blog because, yup, you guessed it. Everyone else seems to be doing it too. Actually, that's not 100% true. I had originally been assigned to write a blog for one of my classes, but I'm no longer in it, and I just never got around to following through with posting anything. Until now, that is. But back to the question raised. I am nearing my second decade upon this planet and I'm still trying to figure it out. Let's start with the basics: I'm a girl - well, woman, actually - who should really be spending her free time bettering herself by searching for jobs, reading intellectual memoirs about people who have done greater things in their lives than I have, going outside and exploring the city (New York) or the world (Earth), learning various instruments - basically living life away from the computer screen. I'm also a frugal student in the midst of New York City who's only form of shopping lately has been refined to glancing at the pretty dresses in the windows of cute boutiques on my long walk home from campus. But that's okay. If I've learned anything from this city, it's that there are plenty of great things for less than five bucks that you can take apart, piece back together, and make it your own.

Leave a Reply

